Saturday Cyber Savings – November 28th

I have a confession: I love online shopping. There, I’ve said it. No apologies. I have another confession: I love a bargain. I have no control over that – I’m of Scottish heritage and I was born in Maine. It’s in my DNA – it’s called the “Double Frugal Gene.” That being said, I have decided to write an occasional blog post to share fabulous finds that you might find interesting too. They will include among other things book bargains, photography finds, genealogy goodies and even some freebies. I’ll be upfront with you – I am an affiliate for several companies. What does that mean? That means if you use the link imbedded here to purchase an item I receive a small percentage of the sale. It doesn’t change your price – you get a great bargain and I make a little money to support my genealogy habit of rescuing old photos and finding the family to whom they belong. Win, win.

So, let’s get underway. Here is what I have found for you or the genealogist in your life:

If you’re just starting work on your genealogy, the web is a good place to start (although not EVERYTHING is online!). There are a lot of free websites that can jump start your research. For just $2.99, Nancy Hendrickson has compiled a list of 101 free  websites in her book:

101 of the Best Websites for Climbing Your Family Tree

I’ve told you how I love using Photoshop to repair old photos. Here’s a 40% savings on Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 14:

Adobe Elements & Premiere Elements 14

or if you just want Adobe Photoshop Elements 14 save 39% here:

Adobe Photoshop Elements 14

And if you’re going to try Photoshop, you’ll need a guide. Save 47% on the Dummies Guide:

Photoshop Elements 14 For Dummies Kindle Edition

With the Holidays upon us take the time to gather family stories while visiting with relatives and don’t forget to write the stories down! This FREE book (a quick read) will help:

Family Story Toolkit: Using Nonfiction, Creative Nonfiction, and Fiction to Tell Your Stories (Quick & Easy Guides for Genealogists Book 4) Kindle Edition

Thomas MacEntee’s book offers some ways to save on your genealogical research. While this is not on sale, the $2.99 price tag will pay for itself many times over:

The 15 Habits of Highly Frugal Genealogists

If you’re looking for a quick gift for the genealogist in the family save 36% on one of the best magazines in the industry:

Family Tree Magazine

And finally, this is an item that I have on my personal wish list. As a researcher I spend a lot of time sitting. Although I go to the gym regularly, I’ve found that as I get older my motivation to go to the gym is declining (especially on frigid New England mornings when the car is covered with snow!). This work station maybe just the ticket. Save 20% on this five star rated work station:

Stamina Wirk Ride Cycling Workstation

_____________________________________________________

Note that online sales can be sold out or have a limited time frame – if you’re interested in any of these items, don’t wait too long! I don’t want you to miss out. Happy Holidays and Happy Savings!

 

 

About Deborah Lee Stewart

I try to get photos returned to family members at no charge. Please contact me if you are related to any of the people in the rescued photos that I post. I can be reached at: deborahleestewart@gmail.com All posts are copyrighted. If you would like to share one of my blog posts please contact me for permission. Thank you!

Leave a comment