Flip-Pal Mobile Scanner

My genealogy friends know how much I love my Flip-Pal mobile scanner. It is a magical piece of equipment. It’s lightweight, portable and scans in high resolution in color or black and white. Here are some of the things that I have used it for:

  • I’ve taken it to archives (most will allow its use – but always check with the staff) – that saves on copy costs.
  • I’ve used it to quickly scan family photos at relatives’ homes.
  • Most of the photos in this blog have been scanned using the Flip-Pal.
  • I scanned the 1918 photo album that my grandfather created. The pages were too big for a traditional scanner and it was too fragile to go through that kind of abuse. The whole album is now stored digitally on my computer where I can access it at my leisure and not worry about doing further damage to the original. The album is now safely stored away in an archival box to protect it from further deterioration.

Image

Which brings me to the stitching software program. By overlapping the scans slightly using the guidelines on the scanner, you can easily use the stitching software to put over-sized pictures back together. When I first got it I decided to put it to the test. The photo below is my Dad’s military Company from World War II. It is a large photo. It took ten scans, but what great results!

Image

I love this scanner so much that I decided to become part of their affiliate program. If you click the Flip-Pal link on the sidebar you will be taken to the website that gives you more information on purchasing a Flip-Pal. And if you buy one, I make a little moolah. <smile>

Tags: , , , ,

About Deborah Lee Stewart

I try to get photos returned to family members at no charge. Please contact me if you are related to any of the people in the rescued photos that I post. I can be reached at: deborahleestewart@gmail.com

4 responses to “Flip-Pal Mobile Scanner”

  1. renaissancemoon says :

    this looks really cool! and not too expensive.

  2. renaissancemoon says :

    I am seriously considering this. There are a bunch of different packages. Which one do you recommend?

    • Deborah Lee Stewart says :

      Hi Martha – When I bought mine there was only the option to buy the Flip-Pal. I do have a case that I bought separately to protect it when I travel with it. It really depends on what you plan to do with it. If you want to make scrapbook pages you might want to try the Creativity Bundle. You’ll definitely want a case for it so this might be a good option and it includes lots of fun software. Hope that helps you make a decision!

Leave a Reply

